Summer Is Over

Summer is over.

I didn’t accomplish as much as I wanted to and there’s plenty for me to be upset about. 

At the beginning of the summer, I gave myself some goals to accomplish:

  1. Find an agent for my first book The Return of Infernus.
  2. Finish writing the first draft of my new book Terra Aurra.
  3. Get a fence for our backyard.
  4. Go to the gym and get in shape.
  5. Fully unpack in our new house.

I completed none of these goals. (Well, that’s not completely true. I have lost 12 lbs by working out at the gym this summer and I feel like I’m in the best shape I’ve been in a while. So, mazel tov to me!)

But I did not attain any of my other goals. Truly, I did not do a lot of leg work (read: searching the internet) for new agents ever since the first four shot me down, and I sacrificed a lot of morning writing time in order to play Overwatch (which is just super fun!). So, that’s on me.

Whether it be outside forces or my own inner motivation, I didn’t accomplish as much as I wanted this summer. While that frustrates me and I could certainly be upset about it, I can’t focus on it.

I’m an Elementary teacher. My school year with new students starts now. I’m about to get swept up into long, busy days reading essays, making lesson plans, cheering on my students at their extra curricular activities (that’s my current and former students), and waking up really, really early.

I say all this to say: Life goes on.

Even though I didn’t complete my goals this summer, my goals have not changed. I still want to become a published author. I want a dog to go in my backyard. I still want to get in shape.

So, that’s what I’m going to do.

I hope all of you keep working to reach your goals too. Just because you haven’t gotten there yet, doesn’t mean you will never get there (though, I surely think that some days).

Keep writing. Keep being awesome. Keep being nerdy.

Leave a Reply

